$restriction.code /sports/fball/2019-20/releases/20190722mspzyd

Ohio Football's Hagan Named To 2019 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Preseason Watch List

Ohio Football's Hagan Named To 2019 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Preseason Watch List

FOLLOW OHIO FOOTBALL: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

FWAA Release

DALLAS -- Redshirt senior free safety Javon Hagan (Jacksonville, Fla.) of the Ohio football team has been named to the 2019 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Preseason Watch List, as announced today by the Football Writers Association of America.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy has been awarded annually since 1993 to the collegiate American football player adjudged by the membership of the FWAA to be the best defensively in the National Collegiate Athletic Association.

Hagan is one of 92 defensive standouts from 65 schools in all 10 Division I Football Bowl Subdivision conferences plus independents. Hagan is joined by Eastern Michigan senior defensive back Kevin McGill and Northern Illinois redshirt senior linebacker Antonio Jones-Davis in representing the Mid-American Conference on the list.

Players may be added or removed from the watch list during the course of the season. As in previous years, the FWAA will announce a National Defensive Player of the Week each Tuesday this season. If not already on the watch list, each week's honored player will be added at that time. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the 2019 Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Nov. 20.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner will be chosen from those five finalists. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association's full membership, selects a 26-man All-America Team and eventually the Nagurski Trophy finalists. Committee members, by individual ballot, select the winner they regard as the best defensive player in college football.

Hagan helped the Ohio defense rank first in the country in turnovers gained with 32 in 2018. Hagan tied for the team lead with two interceptions and both forced and recovered a fumble.

Hagan, who has already earned his undergraduate degree in sport management, has earned All-MAC recognition in each of the last three years, earning First Team honors twice (2016, '18) and Second Team recognition once (2017). A starter in 35 of the 39 career games he has played in, Hagan has compiled 216 career total tackles (120 solo, 96 assisted), with 5.0 career tackles for loss, has accounted for 25 career passes defensed (10th-most in program history), has tallied six career interceptions for 132 career interception return yards, has notched 19 career pass breakups (ninth-most in program history) and has forced eight career fumbles with three career fumble recoveries. As a redshirt freshman in 2016, he was named to the Sound Mind Sound Body Freshman All-America Team by the Football Writers Association of America and earned MAC Freshman of the Year honors after picking off a career-high three passes and totaling 120 interception return yards and forcing a career-high six fumbles -- good for third in the country and first in the MAC -- with one fumble recovery.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy Preseason Watch List selection marks Hagan's second award watch list selection in as many days, as he joined junior cornerback Jamal Hudson (Miami, Fla.) in being named to the 2019 Paycom Jim Thorpe Award Preseason Watch List on Monday. Last week, senior quarterback Nathan Rourke (Oakville, Ontario, Canada) was named to both the Maxwell and Davey O'Brien Award watch lists, and redshirt senior center Steven Hayes (Dacula, Ga.), was named to the Rimington Trophy Watch List.

Ohio will kick off the 2019 regular season on Saturday, Aug. 31, with a home matchup against Rhode Island at Peden Stadium. The contest is slated to get underway at 2 p.m. ET and will be broadcast live on ESPN+. For ticket information, call the ticket office at 1-800-575-2287 or click here.


Ohio Football Falls to Miami
November 6, 2019 Ohio Football Falls to Miami
Ohio Football Falls At Pitt
September 7, 2019 Ohio Football Falls At Pitt