$restriction.code /sports/wbkb/2018-19/releases/20190317u05eaq

Ohio Women's Basketball to Learn Postseason Fate on Monday

Ohio Women's Basketball to Learn Postseason Fate on Monday

ATHENS, Ohio -- The Ohio Women's Basketball team will learn its postseason fate on Monday (March 18).

The NCAA Selection Show will be televised on ESPN at 7 p.m. tomorrow with the entirety of the bracket revealed. After the selection show on Monday, March 18, games begin with the First Round on Friday, March 22 and Saturday, March 23. First and Second Round games will be played at campus sites. Regionals will be at Albany, N.Y., Chicago, Greensboro, N.C., and Portland, Ore.

Earlier on Sunday, the NCAA revealed its final eight teams in consideration for the final four spots in the NCAA Tournament. Ohio was on the list, joined by Arkansas, Auburn, Indiana, Princeton, Tennessee, TCU and UCF. Princeton is guaranteed a spot in the NCAA Tournament after winning the Ivy League Championship earlier today. 

The Women's National Invitation Tournament 64 team field will be announced by 9 p.m. ET on Monday. The WNIT bracket will come out later that evening. The first round will kick off Wednesday, March 20, with the event culminating on Saturday, April 6 -- the championship game will be televised on CBS Sports Network. The NIT is played at home sites. 

Information on which tournament Ohio will play in with times, dates and locations will be available on OhioBobcats.com shortly after the announcements. Make sure to follow @OhioWBasketball on Twitter for live updates.

Ohio Women's Basketball is 27-5 and is No. 34 in the latest RPI. Ohio made it to the Mid-American Conference Championship Game and won the MAC East regular season crown after going 14-4 during conference play. Sophomore guard Cece Hooks (Dayton, Ohio) was named the MAC Defensive Player of Year and redshirt freshman Erica Johnson (Mansfield, Ohio) won MAC Freshman of the Year and MAC Sixth Player of the Year. Hooks was named First Team All-MAC, while Johnson and junior guard Amani Burke (Columbus, Ohio) were named Third Team All-MAC. Hooks made the MAC All-Defensive team, while Johnson was named to the All-Freshman team.